Bicycle Race between Krupp, culinary delights and world cultural heritage

Weekend trip

Bicycle Race between Krupp, culinary delights and world cultural heritage

Day 1: Cycling in the footsteps of Margarethe Krupp

Essen and the Ruhr region are an excellent cycling area. This is due, among other things, to the numerous former colliery railway lines that have been converted into fast and direct cycle routes. This allows you to get from A to B not only comfortably but also quickly. For example, on a 13 km route through the west of the city. During a stopover at Margarethenhöhe , considered one of the most beautiful examples of the German garden city idea, you will experience what is probably Essen's most unique district. A trained guide will lead you through the district that Margarethe Krupp had designed according to her ideas and which today, due to the special ownership structure, can still choose its own inhabitants to a large extent. By the way, you are welcome to stay for lunch at the ‘Maggihöhe’. In the gourmet restaurant ‘M’ you will certainly be pampered to the hilt.

Then, freshly refreshed, you get back on your bike and after just a few minutes you reach the next highlight. The Grugapark with its 60 hectares is the green lung of the city of Essen and one of the most spacious and beautiful European city parks. A special eye-catcher there is, among other things, the Hundertwasserhaus , which you can already see on the way from the cycle path. From the ‘Gruga’ you will return to the hotel, where you can end the evening in a relaxed atmosphere.

Day 2: Discover Essen

The next day you will take it much easier, at least today the bus driver will be driving instead of you. The best way to discover the whole diversity of the city of Essen is on a round trip with the double-decker bus . On the 2-hour tour through the entire city, you will pass Lake Baldeney , Villa Hügel , the former home of the Krupp family, Margarethenhöhe and, of course, the UNESCO World Heritage Zollverein in the north of the city. It's best to get off here and take your time! Together with a trained guide, you will discover the imposing colliery site with its extraordinary industrial culture and nature.

Where people used to work hard and physically, the international creative industries are now at work. The PACT Zollverein , for example, is a centre for dance, performance art and theatre, and in the Red Dot Design Museum you will find Europe's largest collection of contemporary design. The UNESCO World Heritage Zollverein is therefore an exciting place to spend the whole day. You can also find an excellent dinner here: for example at the Casino Zollverein . Or you can take a taxi to one of Essen's Michelin-starred restaurants and spend the evening in a particularly extravagant way at Schote or Restaurant Hannappel .

Write us

Contact

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info

Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Your message to the Tourist Info

CORONAVIRUS IN ESSEN

Because of the current situation, we cannot always guarantee that everything will take place or is open, as stated here. Please also inform yourself at the respective institution or the organizer about the current special features.
More information about the coronavirus in Essen (only available in german)

Bicycle Race zwischen Krupp, Kulinarik und WeltKulturerbe

Wochenendtrip

Bicycle Race zwischen Krupp, Kulinarik und WeltKulturerbe

Tag 1: Mit dem Rad auf den Spuren von Margarethe Krupp

Essen und das Ruhrgebiet sind ein hervorragendes Radrevier. Das liegt unter anderem an den zahlreichen früheren Bahnverbindungen der Zechen, die zu schnellen und direkten Radtrassen umgebaut wurden. So lässt kommen Sie nicht nur bequem sondern auch schnell von A nach B. Zum Beispiel auf einer 13 km langen Route durch den Westen der Stadt. Bei einem Zwischenstopp auf der Margarethenhöhe , die als eines der schönsten Beispiele für die deutsche Gartenstadtidee gilt, erleben Sie den wohl einzigartigsten Stadtteil Essens. Ein geschulter Guide führt Sie durch das Stadtviertel, das Margarethe Krupp nach ihren Vorstellungen gestalten ließ und das sich heute durch die besonderen Besitzverhältnisse noch seine Einwohner zu einem Großteil selbst aussuchen kann. Bleiben Sie übrigens gern zum Mittagessen auf der "Maggihöhe". Im Gourmetrestaurant "M" werden Sie mit Sicherheit nach Strich und Faden verwöhnt.

Danach geht es frisch gestärkt zurück aufs Rad und Sie erreichen schon nach wenigen Minuten das nächste Highlight. Der Grugapark mit seinen 60 Hektar Fläche ist die grüne Lunge der Stadt Essen und einer der weiträumigsten und schönsten europäischen Stadtparks. Ein besonderer Blickfang ist dort unter anderem das Hundertwasserhaus , das Sie schon auf dem Weg vom Radweg aus sehen können. Von der Gruga geht es dann zurück ins Hotel, wo Sie den Abend ganz entspannt ausklingen lassen können.

Tag 2: Essen entdecken

Am nächsten Tag lassen Sie es deutlich ruhiger angehen, zumindest fahren heute nicht Sie sondern der Busfahrer. Die ganze Vielfalt der Stadt Essen entdecken Sie am besten auf einer Rundfahrt mit dem Doppeldeckerbus . Auf der 2-stündigen Tour durch die gesamte Stadt geht es zum Beispiel vorbei am Baldeneysee , der Villa Hügel , dem früheren Stammsitz der Familie Krupp, der Margarethenhöhe und natürlich dem UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein im Norden der Stadt. Hier steigen Sie am besten aus und nehmen sich Zeit! Zusammen mit einem geschulten Guide entdecken Sie das imposante Zechengelände mit seiner außergewöhnlichen Industriekultur und -natur.

Wo früher hart und körperlich malocht wurde, arbeitet heute die internationale Kreativwirtschaft. Das PACT Zollverein zum Beispiel ist ein Zentrum für Tanz, Performance-Kunst und Theater und im Red Dot Design Museum finden Sie Europas größte Sammlung zeitgenössischen Designs. Das UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein ist daher ein spannender Ort an dem man den ganzen Tag verbringen kann. Ein hervorragendes Abendessen finden Sie hier auch: zum Beispiel im Casino Zollverein . Oder Sie lassen sich mit dem Taxi in eines der Essener Restaurants mit Michelin-Stern bringen und begehen den Abend besonders extravagant in der Schote oder im Restaurant Hannappel .

Schreiben Sie uns

Kontakt

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info
Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Ihre Mit­tei­lung / Pro­spekt­be­stel­lung an die Tourist Info

Coronavirus in Essen

Auf Grund der momentanen Situation können wir nicht immer dafür garantieren, dass alles stattfindet oder geöffnet ist, wie hier angegeben. Bitte informieren Sie sich zusätzlich bei der jeweiligen Institution oder dem Veranstalter über die aktuellen Besonderheiten.
Weitere Informationen rund um das Coronavirus in Essen