Museum Folkwang | © K + S Studios
Museum Folkwang | © K + S Studios

Clash of Cultures

Day trip

Clash of Cultures

In the morning to van Gogh, at lunchtime to enjoy the best currywurst in town and in the evening to a spirits course – Essen got it all!

Essen is the city of contrasts, a melting pot of cultures. If you want to experience the perfect ‘Clash of Cultures’, this is the place to be. After breakfast, you're off to the Museum of the Year. With four works by van Gogh, Monet, Picasso or Cézanne, the Museum Folkwang has a top-class collection of international art - and best of all: admission to the permanent exhibition is free!

Just a few hundred metres away is the cultural antipole. Zum Xaver is one of the oldest snack bars in Germany. Since 1952, it has served some of the best chicken and curry sausages in the city. Berlin can still claim to have invented the currywurst... In the Ruhr area they know better. Currywurst, chips and a pilsner - that's the perfect lunch! Afterwards, let yourself drift along the nearby ‘Rü’, the Rüttenscheider Straße. Individual boutiques, shops and bars will quickly make you forget the time. But be careful: don't dream away your date at the School of Drinking ! Nowhere else can you experience upscale bar culture as purely as here. Whether it's gin, whiskey, rum and cocktail tasting or simply enjoying the drink of your choice in a stylish ambience... Your ‘Clash of Cultures’ will end fabulously!

Write us

Contact

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info

Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Your message to the Tourist Info

CORONAVIRUS IN ESSEN

Because of the current situation, we cannot always guarantee that everything will take place or is open, as stated here. Please also inform yourself at the respective institution or the organizer about the current special features.
More information about the coronavirus in Essen (only available in german)

Museum Folkwang | © K + S Studios
Museum Folkwang | © K + S Studios

Clash of Cultures

Tagestrip

Clash of Cultures

Morgens zu van Gogh, mittags die beste Currywurst der Stadt genießen und abends zum Spirituosen-Lehrgang – in ESSEN geht alles!

Essen ist die Stadt der Kontraste, ein Schmelztiegel der Kulturen. Wenn Du den perfekten "Clash of Cultures" erleben willst, bist Du hier genau richtig. Nach dem Frühstück geht's für Dich ins Museum des Jahres. Mit vier Werken von van Gogh, Monet, Picasso oder Cézanne verfügt das Museum Folkwang über eine hochklassige Sammlung internationaler Kunst – und das Beste: der Eintritt in die Dauerausstellung ist frei!

Nur ein paar hundert Meter entfernt geht's dann zum kulturellen Gegenpol. Zum Xaver ist eine der ältesten Imbissbuden in Deutschland. Seit 1952 gibt es hier mit die besten Hähnchen und Currywürste der Stadt. Berlin kann noch lange behaupten die Currywurst erfunden zu haben… Im Ruhrgebiet weiß man es besser. Currywurst Pommes und dazu ein Pils – so sieht das perfekte Mittagessen aus! Danach lässt Du Dich am besten über die nahegelegene "Rü", die Rüttenscheider Straße treiben. Individuelle Boutiquen, Shops und Bars lassen Dich schnell die Zeit vergessen. Aber Vorsicht: Verträum nicht Dein Date in der School of Drinking ! Nirgendwo erlebst Du gehobene Barkultur so pur wie hier. Ob Gin-, Whiskey-, Rum- und Cocktailtasting oder einfach nur den Drink Deiner Wahl in stylischem Ambiente genießen… Dein "Clash of Cultures" endet fabelhaft!

Schreiben Sie uns

Kontakt

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH
Tourist Info
Kettwiger Str. 2-10
45127 Essen

+49 201 8872333
touristinfo@essen.de

Ihre Mit­tei­lung / Pro­spekt­be­stel­lung an die Tourist Info

Coronavirus in Essen

Auf Grund der momentanen Situation können wir nicht immer dafür garantieren, dass alles stattfindet oder geöffnet ist, wie hier angegeben. Bitte informieren Sie sich zusätzlich bei der jeweiligen Institution oder dem Veranstalter über die aktuellen Besonderheiten.
Weitere Informationen rund um das Coronavirus in Essen